Improving on a Martha Stewart (magazine) recipe

And before you cry out in outrage that it is not possible, hear me out.

I bought the latest edition of Martha Stewart Living Magazine (solely based on the cover photo… because of the fruit posters)

Anyway…

Flipping through the pages, I came to the article titled: “Easy One-Pan Dinners”.  Every single photo had my mouth watering, especially the recipes for Fried Eggs with Greens and Mushrooms and Baked Rice with Chorizo and Clams.  I am forbidden by my doctor from eating dark-green leafy-vegatables, but I can eat rice, chorizo, and clams–and that is what I made.

It was good, but not great.  Not very much flavor, which may not have been the magazine’s fault.  I used low-sodium chicken stock, so that was probably my first mistake.

As for the sausage, the only kind of chorizo my local market sells is the fresh, (Mexican) kind in the plastic casings. The recipe didn’t specify Mexican or Spanish, so I had that dilemma to overcome.  I probably could have made a trip to the local gourmet market to find dried chorizo, but that seemed a 50/50 proposition at best.  So the fresh, Mexican chorizo came home with me.

Two days later, I decided to try the recipe again. Only this time, I doctored it up, southern style, (with tomato, chicken bouillon (for the salt) and a Hatch green chile) which probably made the dish more like a Jambalaya, than like the paella that I think the “Martha” recipe was going for.

And the result?  SO MUCH BETTER!

Now, would you like to try the recipe?  I thought so.  Click this link to pull up the PDF file.  And please, let me know how you liked it.

NOTE: I typed up the recipe for my sister, who detests peas, but throw a handful of peas in there to give it a little color.

Photos of this recipe: The first ten in my Chefinista Set at Flickr.

