The first real post of the new year

The last one doesn’t count as I started writing it last year, but by the time I hit “Publish” the year had already changed over.

Well, what’s going on…

ThisClose to actually having, as Bridget Jones’s father would say, a “real” boyfriend.  Nothing to report as yet, but there has been developments, so I will keep you all posted.

Of course, that is, if I don’t mess it up (and somehow, I always do)  Remind me to tell you the story of the cute younger guy who adored me and I messed it up because I decided to get all feminista and wouldn’t let him carry my computer bag to my car.

HE COULD HAVE DROPPED IT!

A good side effect of all this positive energy flowing all around me (this week) is that a lot of men (and I do mean a lot) have all of a sudden started to take notice of me  (God, I hope it isn’t because of the 30lbs I recently lost, but because of my bright, sparkling personality).  I know right.  I truly must have been some sort of Sea Hag before because  men hardly ever gave me the time of day.

Example: I was walking through the mall after work “shopping for cute stuff”  this evening (which I NEVER do, and am still perplexed as to why I even wanted to shop and shop for cute stuff) and so many men were saying hello and talking to me that I was beginning to think I was on some sort of hidden camera show.

This never happens to me.  NEVER!

And my usual demographic (toothless, homeless older men in their 60s) who can always be counted on for a lewd comment, actually looked away from me as if they were frightened and somehow knew that I wasn’t in their league any longer.

Of course, this could all be my imagination.

Yeah, probably is.

Anyway…

Been watching a lot of documentaries on writers lately.  The second one that caught my particular attention was the one on JK Rowling on the Half-Blood Prince Special Edition DVD (which, I will say again, is really hard to find in stores… it’s almost like they went out of their way not to make them.  There were a million regular editions in Target, et al, but not one Special Edition).

*ends rant & steps off soapbox*

Anyway…

I always sort of heard her story with half of my ear (you know: single mother, on the dole, writing in a cafe) But I never really HEARD her story until I sat down and listened to her interview on the DVD.  Her life and my life really (really) sound an awful lot a like.  She has some really excellent incite to share about writing and how her life has changed since becoming famous.  I do hope you writers get an opportunity to view it.  It’s amazing!

One thing, which I thought was cool: the word processing program she uses looks like it actually pre-formats the book for her.  I always thought writers just double-spaced on an 8-1/2 piece of paper.  Not Ms JK, apparently.  Interesting.  Is this something new or am I just behind the times?

And speaking of writing…

…long, tired sigh!

8 thoughts on “The first real post of the new year

  1. Wow! How exciting. Congrats on the positive energy and getting out of the shiftless/homeless/toothless dude market. I seem to still only be able to attract that lot…and cab drivers.

    • I must have been back to fugly today – none of the men I saw said hello (other than my co-workers and they don’t count!) Oh well, it was enjoyable while it lasted.

  2. you are giving me hope here….

    I am not in the homeless, toothless catagory just the I’ve been to college and graduated but still at home with mama because…(insert reason)…lol

    thanks for making me smile…

Comments are closed.