Fun with Dick and Jane and Heart’s Guardian

For the last few days I have been working on the story Heart’s Guardian.  Yes, I do have other stories that should take precedence, but my muse is a fickle creature and she wants what she wants.

Here is a short passage that I wrote just yesterday that I’m particularly tickled by:

“Red alert, this is a red alert!  Captain Kirk to the bridge; all senior officers’ report.  I repeat, this is a red alert; this is not a drill!”

The door swished open revealing Kirk.

“Report, Mr. Chekov.”

“Keptain, priority one distress call from the Gamma II Research Station.”

Kirk turned to Spock for confirmation.  “Spock, I thought that Gamma II was an un-manned communications relay station.”

Spock was still bent over his long-range scanner when he replied.  “Correct, Captain.  The station captures, relays, and archives all Federation communication’s traffic within this quadrant. It is programmed to signal a priority one distress call in the event of atmospheric or planetary disturbances.  It is difficult to tell at this distance, but I believe the readings I am receiving are seismic in nature.”

“Very well,” said Kirk, turning back to the tactical officer.  “Stand down from red alert, Mr. Chekov.”

“Aye, Keptain.”

“Compute course and speed to Gamma II.”

“If we proceed to Gamma II at warp six we can be there within thirty minutes, Keptain.”

“Lay in a course for Gamma II.”

Aye, sir.”

“Mr. Sulu, nice and easy, if you please.”

“Aye, sir.”

“Spock,” Kirk said swiveling in his chair to address the first officer once more, “Put together an away team.  I want DeSalle and we will need a geologist; Rawlins if he’s available, and someone from communications; what’s that new Ensign’s name, Keller, Kelso?”

“Ensign Kelowitz, sir.”

“Yes, Kelowitz, let’s give her something to do for a change.”

“Unfortunately, Ensign Kelowitz is currently unavailable.  And he is on the sick and injured list, I believe.”

“Well, find someone else; I’ll meet you all in the transporter room in thirty; you have the Con, Mr. Spock.”

“Aye, sir.”

As the turbolift doors swished to a close, Spock knew better then to turn around.  He could just feel Nyota’s eyes boring into the back of his head.  He was certain that she wore an expression on her face that would tell him that she was going down to Gamma II or his life would be made extremely difficult if he failed to acquiesce to her demands.  He did not turn around as he spoke.

“Lieutenant Uhura, would you contact Lieutenant Palmer, if you please.”

“Palmer?” she asked.  Only he was able to detect the mildly indignant tone buried within her reply.

“Yes, Lieutenant Palmer; or did you have someone else in mind to relieve you from your duties on the bridge.

———-

Author’s note: I’m beginning to think that the key to successfully writing Reboot Spock and Nyota, is to write them as if they are Classic Spock and Uhura.

8 thoughts on “Fun with Dick and Jane and Heart’s Guardian

  1. Oh you tease! 🙂 How many times now have I stated that I love your writing? 🙂 I can’t wait to read this story in its entirety. It is so darn captivating. The interactions between Spock and Uhura are priceless.

    • Thank you so much, I am glad you liked it. After reading that story that I have be raving about for the last few days, I suffered from a small crisis of confidence. But I MADE myself sit down and work on this story. I can not hope to improve if I don’t keep plugging away. Your kind words definitely gave me a boost as well.

      • Nope! I read “that story” and it has NOTHING on your stories you post here! You here me? NOTHING! Your characterizations and dialogue are so realistic that its eerie! All I’m going to say about that story is “Can’t Touch This”….or….yours…and I’ll leave it at that…LOL!

      • Aw, that was nice of you to say, but we will have to agree to disagree. 🙂 I can’t stop thinking about that story, that’s how fantastic I thought it was. I am a HUGE fan of meticulous plotting and the plotting of that was… OMG!

  2. Hey Teresa,

    glad to see that you are still in the writing groove. I cant wait until you start posting regularly for the Guardian.

    I read the stories that you linked in your post and thought that they were really fun and interesting reads. However, I still think that you are the queen of believable/ credible characterization and your character dialogue is superb in my opinion – So, dont stop doing you while your enjoying the works of others.

    • *blushes* Thank you, I try to do the best I can with dialogue (I want to be a screenwriter so bad I can taste it) And like I said before, I just try to hear the original actors inflections and zone out my own voice. Kind of backwards though as screenwriters don’t generally pick the actors that get to say their words. 🙂

Comments are closed.