A Brief Encounter: Part Five (the embarrassment of riches version)

Authors note: This chapter has been ready for a couple of days now.  Why make you wait further.  I’m writing at my fastest yet.  Like I said before, the “Prime” universe is easier to envision in my head.

“One thousand, one-hundred and eighty–seven.  One thousand, one-hundred and eighty–eight.”

She looked up from her book and giggled.  “I am sure you’re just exaggerating.”

“One thousand, one-hundred and eighty–nine.”

“You are getting really annoying with that.”

“One thousand, one-hundred and ninety.”

“Besides, I am very tired and light-headed for some reason.”

He paused.  “Three Mai-Tais, two Rum and Colas, and something called a Margarita have been known to cause just such an effect.”

“I’m not listening,” she sing-songed.

“I remind you, that you were the one who said that we would share equally in this undertaking.”

She placed her fingertips over her eyes in a dramatic fashion.

“It’s hot and I’m also starting to get a headache.”

“A most convenient excuse.”

She threw down her book.

“Sheesh!  Such a cry baby; move over!”  Standing unsteadily, she watched in delight as Spock gripped the sides of the row boat as if that would keep it from rocking.

“Miss Uhura, if you would—” he reached out suddenly placing his hand on her hip when it looked as if she might fall.  He immediately drew back when she quickly righted herself.  “If you would just keep your balance, the chances of your capsizing this marine craft will be reduced by thirty-three point four percent.”

“I thought you wanted help with the rowing, Spock; so I’m helping!”

“As long as your help does not end with us both getting wet.”

She slid in next to him and pushed him over to the opposite seat where he sat under the canopy that shaded her only moments before.  Uhura grabbed both the oars and started to row them towards the shore.  He simply stared at her.

After feeling his eyes on her after five pulls of the oars, she spoke.

“Why are you looking at me that way? I’m giving you the break you so desperately said you needed.”

“I am only looking at you because you are something of a puzzle to me at this moment.”

She smirked bemusedly.  “First, I’m a tease, then I am of no help whatsoever, and now I’m a puzzle; make up your mind!”

“I will gladly enlighten you.”

“Please do.”

“Until this moment you have never called me Spock.”

She stopped rowing.  “I call you Spock all the time!”

“No, you do not.”

“I do too!”

No, you do not!”

“I do, too!”

“You have only ever addressed me as: Sir, Commander, or Mr. Spock.  You have also recently taken to calling me “Buster”, which, I might add, is most disturbing.”

“I call you Buster because I like you, Buster!”

“I am amenable to you, too; do you wish me to address you as Buster, as well.”

“No, I most certainly do not!”

“Then you must explain your reasoning.”

“It’s a goof.”

“A goof?  Explain.”

She sighed impatiently.  If Spock wasn’t supposed to be so smart she just might have believed that she was talking to a second grader just then.

“It’s a nickname—like how the Captain calls Doctor McCoy, Bones—it’s a term of endearment.”

He had to think about that for a long moment.

“Correct me if I am wrong, but I was under the impression that terms of endearments were usually reserved for relations and friends.”

“We are friends!” she stated emphatically.

“Are we?” he asked, raising both brows and looking skeptical.

“Why do you say that?” she asked incredulously.

“I distinctly remember you telling me once that Captain Kirk was my only friend.”

She searched her brain for the memory; then she scoffed.

“That was only when I first knew you!  You were so… uptight back then…well, more so than you are now.”  She looked off into the distance for the moment, carefully considering her words for she had more to say.  “And do you really think I would let just anybody sleep in the room right next to mine?  I’m… comfortable around you.  And you always seem to look out for me.  And, most importantly, I trust you, Spock.  Trust me, we’re friends.”

Each reflected in silent contemplation for several minutes as Uhura continued to row, each thinking along the very same lines.  They were friends.  Spock studied the slighty green calluses on his hands for a moment before getting up from his seat to sit next to her.  He took one of the oars.

“Let me help you with that… my friend.”

Uhura smiled, nudged him affectionately with her right shoulder and then said the words for him before he had a chance.

“One thousand, one-hundred and ninety-one.”

And Spock very nearly shared a smile with her as he thought to himself that for the second time in his life he was happy.

—–

Authors footnote: If you don’t know when the first time Spock said that he was happy, refer to the ST episode: This Side of Paradise.  I don’t know what is up with my obsession with Leila Kalomi of late (and yes, in this last video, that is Leonard Nimoy singing).

11 thoughts on “A Brief Encounter: Part Five (the embarrassment of riches version)

    • Thanks, Sharon. I’m glad you’re enjoying reading it. I came back and edited the last little bit just as you posted. I added a link to a video of Spock telling Kirk and McCoy of his first brush with happiness. Check it out. For me, it was always a very poignant moment. The wistful expression on his face is to die for.

  1. *Sigh* How could I be almost equally in love with S/U Prime as well as the other two? The excellent writing is how. Thanks for this posting. It’s wonderful and I love them rowing together and figuring out that they ARE indeed friends. Lovely!

    • Thanks so much! It really means a lot. Actually I’m a little dissatisfied with this particular chapter (I’ve already rewritten the last line twice since posting). I’m all about the balance and a sentence’s cadence. I went back and re-read the entire thing. The timing is off somewhere and I can’t figure out where, but too lazy to re-write. As I said, it’s just going to have to be rough.

  2. Oh! I love this and I love them!! I know you said this has a subversive ending, but I hope they at least remain good friends. They are so cute I could just eat them up!

    • Thanks! I do believe I could write Spock Prime fic for the rest of my days. I just hear his voice so clearly in my head as I put down his lines that it’s almost schizo. I need to channel that same voice whenever I do new Spock.

  3. You have really hit your stride here, this is really excellent. I actually watched this side of paradise for the umpteenth time a few days ago. Love it when Spock says “I don’t think so” in response to the Captain asking him to meet him! For me, the most poignant Spock moment in the whole of Trek is in this ep. After Jim has provoked him and the spores have gone, he says to Jim “you did that deliberately” and he looks unbearably hurt. It gets me every time.

    • Thanks for saying that. I sort of believe it myself. I wish I had started this story out a little more seriously with just a little more thought. I think I can make it a much better story if I tried a little harder. And yes, I totally agree about The Nimoy’s acting in that episode. It was great to see the range of emotions the character had.

    • That particular scene just appeared in my head one day last week and I wrote it down in something like 30 minutes. Sometimes writers get lucky like that and have to take advantage. It will probably never strike me that way again.

      Hey, thanks for reading. I hope you enjoyed it up to this point. And don’t worry; that kind of spamming is not a big deal! 🙂

Comments are closed.