So Pleasing a Thing: The wrap up post

I never, ever intended for the story to be as long as it was, but it had a mind of it own and just continued to write itself.

I actually intended for it to end after the ball.  The original premise was to have Spock meld with Nyota and make her forget everything, but on closer scrutiny that seemed very cruel.

And would you believe that Selkek was not even supposed to be in the story at all.  The original draft had Mrs Hall, Spock’s neighbor lady across the street, be the catalyst for bringing Spock and Nyota together.  I had even written it out in something like 10 pages where Mrs Hall was actually Nyota’s Godmother and Nyota spent her weekends at her house.  I have NO IDEA how I made the leap from there; I will have to go back and re-read it one day to understand why I did the things that I did.

This is the part that’s going to make you all scream, so brace yourself: at one point, I was going to have Stonn be interested in Nyota romantically.  That entire scene at dinner was supposed to be Stonn putting the moves on Ny (not Selkek… and I think a lot of you may have picked up on it because that “vibe” was still there from the first draft well into the second).

My first thought was to have Stonn made aware that Spock favored Nyota.  I wanted to have it where it seemed that Stonn was jealous of Spock and went after the things that he coveted (like T’Pring, like Nyota) but I couldn’t resolve it all in my head and I don’t think I currently possess the skill to introduce such an intricate plot device, so I let it go and brought in Selkek.

And dear, sweet, Selkek, who you all seem to love, was such a “second thought character” when I originally thought him up – he had no bigger role than that of Solev or Turok (because, in my mind I was still shipping Stonn) but when I wrote the scene when they all left the restaurant, something just “clicked” and the Selkek you see on paper was born.  After that, I went back over Chapter 18 and rewrote most of it, giving him just a little more umph!

That was when I also decided that I needed to kill off poor little T’Kel.  And if you an believe it, T’Kel, in the first draft, was originally T’Pring’s sister… which led to this convoluted tale of T’Kel telling Selkek about her sister’s deception, and for Selkek to pass it all onto Spock (which I also wrote out)  But cooler heads prevailed, and I edited and I edited… and I edited (hence the long delays and the writer’s block – it was only me trying to resolve the original story into what you see today.

Again, I want to thank you all for your patience.  I know the story still has its faults, I see them all, I assure you, but I am glad that I was able to bring some enjoyment to you.  Thanks for spending part of your summer here with me.  I have really enjoyed meeting all of the new people and reading all the great fan fiction that I have discovered from you all.

My next few posts will probably have to be Jane Austen related (because this IS, after all, a Jane Austen Fan Fiction blog) and my Jane Austen friends have had the patience of the saints.  I really do need to work on For the Love of Jane for a while to make it up to them… and it’s so close to being finished.

Cheers!

11 thoughts on “So Pleasing a Thing: The wrap up post

  1. after reading your post about Selkek short story, I realized something…Selkek is Spock’s Bingley…the easy going, friendly & love to try new things friend…huh that would make T’Pring = Caroline..well look at that, looks like you ARE writing a JA story :p
    now all we need is a Jane for Selkek, do you think FTLOJ’s Jane need another suitor? Mr Bennet would love to have him as son-in-law. now lets build that time machine

    • Even when I SAY I’m not writing Jane Austen Fan Fic, I AM! I guess there’s no getting away from it. 🙂

  2. “My next few posts will probably have to be Jane Austen related (because this IS, after all, a Jane Austen Fan Fiction blog) and my Jane Austen friends have had the patience of the saints. I really do need to work on For the Love of Jane for a while to make it up to them… and it’s so close to being finished.”

    You do not know how excited I was to read that.

    Looking forward to it.

    • I can not, in good conscience, leave FTLOJ just flapping in the wind, especially when I have a chapter that is almost ready to go.

  3. I’m happy to read that you are planning to work on FTLOJ. I’ve been waiting for an update on it for a very long time. Perhaps I’m the only one rooting for the colonel… tho. But I’ll be happy to read any resolution you give that story. I can’t wait!

  4. I know this is late in coming (I left my mac behind in Seattle on my labor day trip so I have been forced to use my ancient and slow Dell).
    I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed So Pleasing a Thing. It was really one of the well written Spock/Uhura stories that I have ever read and your original characters were so engaging and three dimensional. I can’t wait to read your next story and FTLOJ whenever you get a chance to update.

Comments are closed.