What a difference a day makes

Yesterday, I was all happy and positive.

Today I am absolutely sick and tired.

Someone damaged my car last night.  And while I know that it’s stupid to get all wrapped up in material possessions, it doesn’t change the fact that people just don’t have any respect for others anymore.

They let their kids run wild all night long, damaging other people personal property and getting into all kinds of trouble.  The apartment complex doesn’t do anything about it. And the local police department don’t do anything about it.  I can’t tell you how many times they’ve come out here because of other people’s kids.

I’ve called them myself several times and the police basically tell me that they are powerless.  Powerless?  I find that hard to believe.  Take little Johnny down to the jail once or twice and I’m sure someone will finally get the message.

4 thoughts on “What a difference a day makes

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about it. Definitely time for you to move! I think the police cannot do much if the kids’ parents are letting the kids run around wild and nobody is shot or raped, and I’m guessing the apartment complex only gets upset if THEIR stuff gets broken. The police would get involved if the kids committed vandalism of public property, like graffiti on freeway overpasses, but you’re on your own for private property esp if the damage amount is less than a few hundred dollars. Your only resource is to nail the kids’ parents. Any eyewitnesses? Movie clips of the kids in action?

  2. That’s basically what the police said the last time, that the parents just don’t give a flying fig. No eyewitnesses, but in these situations there never are. Curious though, across the street in another building they’ve got some caution tape up in a stairwell that has me wondering if these same kids did some damage over there as well.

    • Seriously, you’re moving? ‘Cos you and the police (and schoolteachers) cannot do what the parents won’t do. And you shouldn’t have to be afraid in your own apartment complex!

  3. I’m so sorry, you must feel really frustrated, especially when the police seem so helpless. It seems to be the same the world over, kids running riot and being disrespectful of property. It is a horrible feeling knowing that others will damage your stuff without caring 😦

Comments are closed.