A Meme? I talk entirely too much about myself as it is.

Yet, I will give it a go. Pamala Knight of Time Flies has tagged me and I am up for the challenge. Leo’s never give up the opportunity to talk about themselves.

Six things that make me happy:

1: I am happy that finally, we all live in a country where saying “All men are created equal” actually means something. You do not have to agree with President Obama’s politics, you don’t even have to like the man, but before today could you really ever look your sons and daughters in the eye and say they could be whatever they wanted to be without thinking in the back of your mind… well, if you were not a person of color, or a woman, or were GLT, or disabled, or any other number of obstacles that are laid in children’s paths just because they are different?

2: Travel makes me happy. For years, being an Air Force brat, I hated traveling; always having to pack up and move every three or four years; but you know, now, as an adult I find that I really love it. It opens up so many new horizons. When I speak to people who have never left their home state or who have never been on a airplane, I really feel sorry for them; I could never close myself off like that.

3: Handbags makes me happy. I thought about posting a photo of my entire collection, but you would only think I am a complete psycho. Hey, you can have your 100 pairs of shoes, but give me a sophisticated, stylish bag and I am in heaven. If you want to give me a Louis Vuitton gift card, I’ll take that, too.

4.  Having a decent job makes me happy.  Currently, I am unemployed, so I’m not too happy about that situation at the moment.  Hopefully that will change within the next few days.

5.  My favorite authors make me happy.  Jane Austen, E.M. Forster, J.K. Rowling, Helen Fielding, Nancy Mitford, Stella Gibson, Joseph Finder, & Alice Hoffman (but only occasionally).

6.  My Favorite musicians and composers make me extremely happy.  India. Arie, Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov, Lang Lang, Yo Yo Ma, Hans Zimmer, James Newton Howard, Jill Scott, Priscilla Ahn, Little Jackie, Patsy Cline, Philip Glass, Adele Anthony, Luciano Pavarotti, Kirov Orchestra, Emerson String Quartet, Patti LaBelle, Vienna Philaharmoniker, Berliner Philharmoniker, City of Prague Philharmonic, Vanessa Mae, & The Supremes.  I know I’ve forgotten some.

OK, now I’m supposed to tag someone.  Well, I won’t do that.  Feel free to blog what makes you happy!

3 thoughts on “A Meme? I talk entirely too much about myself as it is.

  1. Nice list–made me happy to read it. Best wishes on the job front. I’m currently prowling for new music so I might google some of the music makers who make you happy 🙂

  2. Ooooh, love Little Jackie! My friend David from Belfast just sent a compilation that has some Little Jackie on it and I’m prepared to declare love.

    Thanks for sharing in the ‘meme’ and you don’t talk about yourself too much–we’re glad of everything that you share. Good luck with the job hunt too.

Comments are closed.