Victorian misogynists and why I hate books like Tess of the D’Urbervilles and Anna Karenina

Scratch that…

I was going to write a post asking why Victroian heroines are always called upon to die…

I mean, can’t the heroine just ride off into the sunset with the unpunished rake ala Lydia Bennet or Jane Fairfax or anybody who had the good fortune to marry Henry Crawford (because believe me, after a year month of being married to Edmond Bertram, Fanny would be willing to run off with a poxed milkman if he asked).

But I digress…

Enchanted Serenity blog has a cool post complete with polls where you vote for your favorite [INSERT HERE] in period films.

I was enjoying watching the videos for the Favorite Dance Scene poll. My favorite dance wasn’t listed, but I thought I would share it with you all just because.

Now, wasn’t that better than me going off on some rant about Anna Karenina and how Count Vronski is the true villian of the story?

One thought on “Victorian misogynists and why I hate books like Tess of the D’Urbervilles and Anna Karenina

  1. Thank you for posting that scene. I’d forgotten how much I adore that dance sequence. Watching other (mostly regency) ball dancing makes me feel ungainly and like I’d be a total klutz if I lived in that era, but this scene, wooo…I could totally keep up!

    And a rant exposing Count Vronski’s villainly is never a wated thing. 😉

Comments are closed.