Old movies: From where most of my inspiration springs

Gotta love an old movie. It’s true, they just don’t make them like they used to.

I went out the Borders yesterday (very early), avec coupon, to find something to buy at 40% off. Mysteriously, all the “good” DVD box sets that I have keeping my eye on were not on the shelves (like Wives and Daughters, which I have wanted, like, forever, though the price of $59.99 was a bit prohibitive… but I digress).

Anyway, I wandered through the books shelves, but nothing struck my fancy. Plus, I have about ten books laying about the house now that I have yet to open. So, it was back to the DVD racks to find something.

And there they were, two old movies that were not part of my collection, but I have always wanted:

Rebecca: Joan Fontaine & Laurence Oliver.  I LOVE this film, even though there are times when I just want to slap the de Winters: Max, for being so arrogant and temperamental, and his new wife for being such a doormat.

War and Peace: The CHEESY, poorly cast, poorly acted, poor filmed, poorly directed, HORRIBLE regency era costumes, bad wigs… you get the picture…  yet, I LOVE IT!!!!

6 thoughts on “Old movies: From where most of my inspiration springs

  1. There is a book out now from Rebecca’s point of view. I also think someone once wrote a book called “The Other Mrs. DeWinter”. Hmmm? Perhaps they are one in the same. Not that I have time to read anything nowadays…

  2. I think you might mean Susan Hill’s book ‘Mrs de Winter’ – I liked it very much and thought she really got the style of the original, although I don’t remember it nearly as well as I do ‘Rebecca’. I’m another fan of the movie – also have a newer version with Charles Dance and Emilia Fox but I haven’t got round to watching that one yet.
    I recently watched the massively long BBC series ‘War and Peace’ starring Anthony Hopkins, which I loved as a girl, but haven’t seen the older version – will have to put that right.

    Thanks for adding Costume Drama Reviews as a link.

  3. I always thought it a bit weird that Hollywood required that they change the story so that Max didn’t actually kill Rebecca intentionally as he does in the book. At least the story I heard was that it was morally bad for Western Civilization to have a Max de Winter get away with murder.

    My dad took me to see Rebecca at the art film house when I was a teenager…thus began my crush on Lawrence Olivier, which reached its pinnacle with his Henry V and was destroyed by his Hamlet. I actually liked his Darcy, bow and arrow and all 🙂

    On my list of reading for 2009 is Daphne: A Novel by Justine Picardie: http://www.amazon.com/Daphne-Novel-Justine-Picardie/dp/159691341X/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1230846900&sr=8-1

  4. Judy: I’ve seen the Emilia Fox version, but it has not “stuck” with me so… pretty forgettable. I was in the book store the other day looking for the “Mrs Winter books with no luck, but Amazon says there are three prequels and/or sequels. One day I’ll have to seek them out.

    Jane: They touched on the murder aspect in the DVD extras. I also like L.O.s Darcy… actually liked P&P0 better than the recent film. I have been doing a little more research on D du M. Interesting person, not quite what I expected. I need to read her more.

Comments are closed.