More excuses… but a good excuse!

I bought Sense & Sensibility this weekend (the DVD that includes Miss Austen Regrets, not the one that included Persuasion) What can I say, the more I watch it, the more I like it! But Miss Austen Regrets just keeps increasing in my esteem every time I watch it. (And I have watched it over and over and over and over and over…)

It think I can safely say that M.A.R. is probably the winner of the Jane Austen season (of the new productions, I should say), with S&S coming in a very close second. Northanger Abbey is third and Persuasion, fourth (which would have been higher (for Rupert Penry-Jones alone) if not for the ridiculous ending and the awful hair and makeup) And Mansfield Park… I haven’t words sufficiant to tell you how awful I thought it was.

Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “More excuses… but a good excuse!

  1. I could not agree more! MAR was superb, and I so enjoyed reviewing it for PBS. It was interesting to read the press reviews in the UK. The US press was for the most part favorable and flattering. Some of the UK press were not so happy and called Austen a serial flirt! LOL, it could have been worse I guess.

    Cheers, Laurel Ann

  2. I guess it’s all about perception – Americans probably would have a fit if our literary treasures were portrayed as flirtatious, tipsy, and full of sarcasm… wait a minute – they all are.

    I am not one of these Austenites who prescribe to the theory that Jane Austen was sitting at home, drinking tea, covering skeens, and writing when she finished her housework. Jane was engaged and Cassandra didn’t burn her letters for nothing!

Comments are closed.